Thursday, July 7, 2022

FIH reveal nominees for Hockey Stars awards

Fiona Crackles’ meteoric rise to the Great Britain women’s team has seen the Durham graduate shortlisted for the FIH Hockey Stars Awards 2020-21.

Crackles, who joined the GB national programme full-time in January, has been nominated in the women’s Rising Star category, alongside India’s Sharmila Devi and Valentina Raposo, of Argentina.

Meanwhile, Maddie Hinch is again nominated in the Goalkeeper of the Year section, while Mark Hager, who led GB women to Olympic bronze, is in the running for the women’s team coach of the year award.

Players, coaches, media and fans are able to register their votes for the nominees.

With no Hockey Stars Awards in 2020 due to the pandemic, this year’s awards cover the period from January 2020 through to the Olympic Games.

In another change from the norm, the Hockey Stars Awards nominations and voting will now take place around August and September of each calendar year going forward, moving away from its traditional December-January launch period.

FIH Player of the Year Awards

Women: Agustina Albertarrio (ARG), Eva de Goede (NED), Agustina Gorzelany (ARG), Gurjit Kaur (IND), Frédérique Matla (NED), Maria Verschoor (NED)
Men: Tim Brand (AUS), Arthur van Doren (BEL), Alexander Hendrickx (BEL), Harmanpreet Singh (IND), Jake Whetton (AUS), Aran Zalewski (AUS)

FIH Goalkeeper of the Year Awards

Women: Maddie Hinch (GBR/ENG), Savita (IND), Belén Succi (ARG)
Men: Andrew Charter (AUS), Parattu Raveendran Sreejesh (IND), Vincent Vanasch (BEL).

FIH Rising Star of the Year Awards

Women: Fiona Crackles (GBR/ENG), Sharmila Devi (IND), Valentina Raposo (ARG)
Men: Mustaphaa Cassiem (RSA), Sean Findlay (NZL), Vivek Prasad (IND)

FIH Coach of the Year Awards

Women’s teams: Alyson Annan (AUS) – The Netherlands, Mark Hager (AUS) – Great Britain & England, Sjoerd Marijne (NED) – India
Men’s teams: Colin Batch (AUS) – Australia, Shane McLeod (NZL) – Belgium, Graham Reid (AUS) – India

Fans and players can cast their vote here
Media can cast their vote here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

‘Amsterdam, baby!’: South Africa scrape through to Hockey World Cup cross-overs

South Africa women booked their ticket out of Terrassa to keep their Women's Hockey World Cup alive with a...

More Articles Like This