Sunday, December 3, 2023

Mark Knowles wins Australian men’s hockey player of the year

Australian great Mark Knowles and midfielder Jane Claxton won the Kookaburras and Hockeyroos Player of the Year awards on the Gold Coast on Sunday night.

Knowles, who retired following Australia’s Commonwealth Games gold medal victory in April, was crowned the Kookaburras’ top player for 2017.

The Rockhampton talent led the Kookaburras to Oceania Cup and World League Final titles in 2017, ultimately culminating in the side re-claiming their number one world ranking.

The 34-year-old defender was an inspirational leader and defensive rock full of energy and voice.

Knowles won the award ahead of Matthew Dawson (runner-up) and Jake Whetton (third).

Claxton was named the Hockeyroos’ top player for 2017 after a consistent year where she was a key part of the Hockeyroos’ World League semis campaign and their Oceania Cup success in 2017, scoring in the 2-0 win over New Zealand in the final.

She was a durable performer, playing 26 of the Hockeyroos’ 27 matches in 2017 and stepping in as interim captain.

Claxton won the award ahead of Stephanie Kershaw (runner-up) and Renee Taylor (third).

Kathryn Slattery (12 goals) and Jeremy Hayward (21 goals) were also recognised as the respective sides’ top scorers for 2017.

The AHL awards were also handed following Sunday’s finals, with Victoria’s Lily Brazel and Canberra’s Elena Tice winning the Women’s Player of the Tournament, while Queensland’s Jake Whetton claimed the Men’s Player of the Tournament.

Full list of winners:

HA HP Awards
Kookaburras Highest Goal Scorer
Jeremy Hayward
Hockeyroos Highest Goal Scorer
Kathryn Slattery
Hockeyroos Player of the Year
Jane Claxton
Kookaburras Player of the Year
Mark Knowles

AHL Awards
Women’s Leading Goal Scorer
Jodie Kenny (Queensland), Rebecca Greiner (Queensland), Emily Hurtz (Victoria) – 9 goals
Men’s Leading Goal Scorer
Blake Govers (NSW) – 11 goals
Women’s Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament
Rachael Lynch (Victoria)
Men’s Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament
Andrew Charter (Canberra)
Women’s Player of the Tournament
Elena Tice (Canberra) & Lily Brazel (Victoria)
Men’s Player of the Tournament
Jake Whetton (Queensland)
Women’s Player of the Final
Kaitlin Nobbs (NSW)
Men’s Player of the Final
Corey Weyer (Queensland)

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

EHTV+ hopes to muscle in on competitive club video market

“It’s a competitive market these days,” says EuroHockey chief executive Angus Kirkland of the rising adoption of video installments...

More Articles Like This