Monday, June 24, 2024

FIH Hockey Stars Awards: New voting as shortlists revealed

The Netherlands dominate the shortlist for this year’s FIH Hockey Stars Awards, while no English players feature.

The voting has changed for 2022 after controversy overshadowed last year’s awards when India won six of the eight categories.

The new voting process includes an ‘expert group’, whose votes count for 40 per cent of the overall result.

Meanwhile votes from national associations, represented by captains and coaches, will count for a further 20%. Hocke fans and other players (20%) as well as media (20%) will make up the remaining 40%.

The women’s World Cup is likely to play a hand in how thw voting goes, with Dutch and Argentinian players leading the way in the player of the year awards.

The Netherlands feature in all eight categories, while Spain women’s coach Adrian Lock is the only Englishman featured, in the coach of the year award.

FIH Player of the Year Award

Women: Felice Albers (NED), María José Granatto (ARG), Frédérique Matla (NED), Agustina Gorzelany (ARG), Georgina Oliva (ESP)
Men: Arthur de Sloover (BEL), Harmanpreet Singh (IND), Niklas Wellen (GER), Thierry Brinkman (NED), Tom Boon (BEL)

FIH Goalkeeper of the Year Award

Women: Savita (IND), Josine Koning (NED), Belén Succi (ARG), Jocelyn Bartram (AUS), Phumelela Mbande (RSA)
Men: Loïc van Doren (BEL), PR Sreejesh (IND), Pirmin Blaak (NED), Arthur Thieffry (FRA), Alexander Stadler (GER)

FIH Rising Star of the Year Award

Women: Charlotte Englebert (BEL), Luna Fokke (NED), Mumtaz Khan (IND), Jip Dicke (NED), Amy Lawton (AUS)
Men: Miles Bukkens (NED), Timothée Clément (FRA), Sanjay (IND), Pau Cunill (ESP), Rizwan Ali (PAK)

FIH Coach of the Year Award

Women’s Team: Janneke Schopman (NED) Team India, Jamilon Mülders (GER) Team Netherlands, Katrina Powell (AUS) Team Australia, Raoul Ehren (NED) Team Belgium, Adrian Lock (ENG) Team Spain
Men’s Team: Jeroen Delmee (NED) Team Netherlands, Michel van den Heuvel (NED) Team Belgium, Graham Reid (AUS) Team India, Garreth Ewing (RSA) Team South Africa, Frédéric Soyez (FRA) Team France

The winners will be announced in early October.

  • Fans and players can cast their vote here
  • Media can cast their vote here

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

FIH Hockey Pro League: Australian men secure World Cup berth, Dutch women win title

Australia qualified for the Hockey Men’s World Cup 2026 after Great...

Irish para hockey champions meet Taoiseach after Special Olympics gold

Ireland's Hockey Intellectual Disability team have enjoyed a memorable week since...

How Newport, formed in 2017, won England Hockey emerging club of the year award

Seven short years on from being formed, Newport Hockey Club were...

‘This will be my last Olympic Games – I’ll appreciate every moment’

Team GB women's hockey captain Hollie Pearne-Webb will once again wear...

- A word from our sponsors -