Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Luciana Aymar named in squad as Argentinian coaches are appointed

[img_assist|nid=8156|title=(L-R) Sandra Isola (Vice President, CAH), Carlos Retegui (Coach, Argentina men), Anibal Fernandez (President, CAH) and Emanuel R|desc=|link=none|align=left|width=200|height=133]The Confederación Argentina de Hockey (CAH) has confirmed that Emanuel Roggero (women) and Carlos Retegui (men) are the new head coaches of the national teams.  The two coaches were presented to the press earlier this week by recently elected CAH President Anibal Fernandez, who was accompanied by Vice President Sandra Isola and Secretary Mario Galliano.

Emanuel Roggero will oversee Las Leonas, the globally renowned women’s side that claimed the Silver medal at the London 2012 Olympic Games.  The hugely successful team from London was coached by newly-appointed men’s coach Carlos Retegui, a man who will be aiming to replicate his previous achievements in his new position. It is the second time that Retegui has coached the men’s national side, having guided the team to a Bronze medal at the 2008 FIH Champions Trophy in Rotterdam (NED). Like Retegui, Roggero also has an historical connection with his new team, having held the role of assistant coach to Gabriel Minadeo in 2005.

Roggero and Retegui are both former Argentine national team players and have been involved in many prestigious tournaments including World Cups, Olympics and Junior World Cups.

The two coaches are currently working with their respective player groups at the National Centre for High Performance Sport ahead of the upcoming World League Semi Final events. Argentina women will be competing in the Investec Hockey World League Semi Final in London, which takes place 22nd-30th June 2013. The men head to the Malaysian city of Johor Bahru for their World League Semi Final competition, and will be in action from 29th June to 7th July 2013. The provisional squads can be found below. These will be trimmed down to 18 player groups ahead of the respective events.  

Provisional Squad – Women
Luciana Aymar, Martina Cavallero, Macarena Rodríguez, Delfina Merino, Rosario Luchetti, Rocío Sánchez Moccia, Noel Barrionuevo, Laura Del Colle, Daniela Sruoga, Josefina Sruoga, Mariela Scarone, Carla Rebecchi, Silvina D´Elía, Florencia Mutio, Sofía Maccari, Gabriela Ludueña, Giselle Juárez, Victoria Zuloaga, Ana López Basavilbaso, Sofía Cesanelli, Laura Aladro, Belén Succi, Florencia Habif and Agustina Albertario.  

Provisional Squad – Men
Federico Bermejillo, Juan Manuel Vivaldi, Tomás Santiago, Matías Rey, Ignacio Bergner, Gonzalo Peillat, Lucas Argento, Leandro Tollini, Juan Gilardi, Nahuel Salis, Manuel Brunet, Pedro Ibarra, Juan Garreta, Matías Paredes, Lucas Rey, Lucas Rossi, Juan Martín López, Guido Barreiro, Facundo Callioni, Guillermo Schickendantz, Lucas Vila, Agustín Mazzilli, Joaquín Menini, Juan Cruz Agulleiro, Tomás Argento and Isidoro Ibarra.

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Paris Olympics Hockey: Sean Murray to captain Ireland men’s squad

The Irish men's hockey squad for the Paris Olympics Games has...

FIH Hockey Pro League: Australian men secure World Cup berth, Dutch women win title

Australia qualified for the Hockey Men’s World Cup 2026 after Great...

Irish para hockey champions meet Taoiseach after Special Olympics gold

Ireland's Hockey Intellectual Disability team have enjoyed a memorable week since...

How Newport, formed in 2017, won England Hockey emerging club of the year award

Seven short years on from being formed, Newport Hockey Club were...

- A word from our sponsors -