Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Watsonian Ladies take accolades at Scottish Hockey awards

Watsonian Ladies and their top striker, Sarah Jamieson, were honoured as Scotland celebrated the achievements of the players, officials, coaches and volunteers in the hockey community.

Keith Smith’s squad won the indoor title and backed that up with the Scottish Cup and the Premiership to become the Team of the Year and Jamieson was a real threat for club and country. She won the Player of the Year award, beating four men – Jamie Green, Fraser Moran, Keir Robb and Rob Harwood – for the accolade.

The Coach of the Year award went to Vishal Marwaha for a spectacular season at the helm of Western Wildcats men and also nominated were Keith Smith (Watsonians) and Ewan Campbell (Hillhead).

The Community Club of the Year were Uddingston due to the tremendous impact the club has on its local community. Hillhead and Clydesdale were also nominated.

Rob Field was the International Player of the Year after the public overwhelmingly voted for the Scotland international. Amy Gibson plus current Great Britain  squad players, Amy Costello and Katie Robertson, were nominated along with Great Britain men’s player, Lee Morton, and Andrew McConnell.

For his outstanding contribution to hockey for over 50 years, Neil Menzies, who retired recently, was commemorated with the Derek Forsyth award named after the late Scotland men’s coach.

Scottish Hockey CEO, Barry Cawte, said: “Bringing back the awards was something we were really excited to do, and to bring it back in such an exciting format was brilliant.
“Of course we congratulate all of the winners, but everyone involved should be proud of their achievements. The stories behind all the nominations are a true inspiration to us all.”

Club Team of the Year (Sponsored by New Balance)
Winner – Watsonians Ladies
Shetland Ladies
Hillhead Men’s 2s

Coach of the Year (Sponsored by Bruntsfield Sports)
Winner – Vishal Marwaha (Western Wildcats men)
Ewan Campbell (Hillhead men)
Keith Smith (Watsonians Ladies)

Community Club of the Year (Sponsored by Clayton Hotel Glasgow)
Winner – Uddingston Hockey Club

Hillhead Hockey Club
Clydesdale Hockey Club

Inclusion Award (Sponsored by Gallagher Insurance, Risk Management, and Consulting)
Winner – Hillhead Hockey Club
Nominees – Uddingston Hockey Club

Masters Team of the Year (Sponsored by Bell Ingram)
Winner – Scottish Hockey Masters Women’s 60s
Scottish Hockey Masters Men’s 70s

Official of the Year (Sponsored by the Scottish Thistles Masters Hockey Club)
Winner – Jamie Telfer
Sarah Wilson

Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Whos the Umpire)
Winner – Arthur Robertson (Falkirk and Linlithgow Hockey Club)
Gordon McFarlane (Ellon Hockey Club)
James Moran (Western Wildcats)
Sarah Bell (Glasgow High Kelvinside Hockey Club)
Alan Meikle (Hillhead Hockey Club)
Duncan Service (Falkirk and Linlithgow Hockey Club)

Player of the Year (Sponsored by the University of Strathclyde)
Winner – Sarah Jamieson
Jamie Green
Fraser Moran
Keir Robb
Rob Harwood

Spirit of Hockey Award (Sponsored by Kingfisher Lighting) 
Winner – Eilidh Campbell
Ross McWilliams
Rottenrow BlueSox

International Player of the Year (Sponsored by QTV)
Winner – Rob Field
Amy Gibson
Amy Costello
Katie Robertson
Lee Morton
Andrew McConnell

The Brave Award (Sponsored by Ossian Media)
Winner – Thunder Emerging Girls
Lightning Aspiring Girls
Devils Aspiring Boys

The Derek Forsyth Award (for outstanding contribution to hockey)
Neil Menzies

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

How is England Hockey Talent Academy system faring in north regions?

Rob Turner, player/coach at Timperley HC, says the new talent system has “opened his eyes” to where player development...

More Articles Like This