Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Paris 2024 Olympic hockey pools revealed

The pool stages for Paris 2024 have been revealed by the International Hockey Federation.

All 12 teams in the men’s and women’s tournaments have now been realised following the FIH Olympic qualifiers.

Ireland men sealed the final place after a thrilling finale. 

Pool A: Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Japan, China, France
Pool B: Australia, Argentina, Great Britain, Spain, United States, South Africa 

Pool A:
Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Spain, France, South Africa
Pool B: Belgium, India, Australia, Argentina, New Zealand, Ireland

Four teams will qualify from the six-strong pools for the quarter-finals – which begin on Aug 4.

France will be aiming to become the first host nation to reach the knock-out stages since both GB teams at London 2012.

The participating teams were allocated to their respective pools on the basis of the FIH World Rankings from Sunday.

The 12 teams per gender qualified for the Games either as hosts, winner of their Continental Qualifier or top three finishes at the FIH qualifiers.

Fixtures will be released at a later date. The tournament gets under way on July 27. The men’s medal matches will take place on Aug 8, the women’s the following day.

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Paris Olympics Hockey: Laura Roper set for fourth Games with Team GB women

Laura Roper, who signed off a 20-year club career in April,...

Paris Olympics Hockey: Team GB men squad opts for bold selections

Team GB men will head to the Paris Olympics with one...

Hockey Matters: Coaching yourself in a game

Even if you play on the national team for a major...

King’s Birthday Honours: Lisnagarvey, Neath and Redlands hockey servants honoured

The King's Birthday Honours has seen three people in the world...

- A word from our sponsors -