Sunday, June 23, 2024

Olympic 2024 Hockey qualifiers: FIH reveal nations and pools

The FIH has finalised the teams and venues for the remaining Olympic tickets on offer for Paris 2024, with three spots on offer in tough-looking qualifying competitions.

It will include the enticing prospect of Canada women coaches Danny Kerry and Kate Richardson-Walsh going up against Great Britain in Valencia.

The pools were revealed after Argentina (men and women) sealed their spots as winners of the Pan American Games and South Africa also doubling up to win African Hockey Road to Paris 2024 competitions.

The 16 teams per gender have been divided into two groups, with eight teams traveling to each location in January: Muscat, Oman and Valencia, Spain for the men, and Ranchi, India, and Valencia, Spain for the women. 

Ireland men and women will both attempt to qualify in Valencia, as will Olympic champions Belgium men and their women counterparts.


Muscat, Oman (15-21):
Pool A: Great Britain, Malaysia, Pakistan, China
Pool B: Germany, New Zealand, Canada, Chile

Valencia, Spain (13-21):
Pool A: Belgium, Ireland, Japan, Ukraine
Pool B: Spain, Korea, Austria, Egypt


Valencia, Spain (13-21)
Pool A: Belgium, Korea, Ireland, Ukraine
Pool B: Great Britain, Spain, Canada, Malaysia

Ranchi, India (13-19)
Pool A: Germany, Japan, Chile, Czech Republic
Pool B: India, New Zealand, United States, Italy

Ranchi, India (13-19): Germany, India, New Zealand, Japan, Chile, United States, Italy and Czech Republic

Valencia, Spain (13-21): Belgium, Great Britain, Spain, Korea, Ireland, Canada, Malaysia and Ukraine

The men’s and women’s teams have been divided into the two groups on the basis of their current world ranking.

The teams that finish in the top three of each of the four Olympic qualifiers will seal their qualification to Paris.

A total of 12 teams across the genders will compete in Paris.

Who has qualified already for Paris 2024?

Hosts France have gained direct qualification. Australia (men and women) were winners of the Oceania Cup, which sealed their qualification, while Netherlands (men and women) qualified as the European champions. India men and China women clinched their spots at the Olympics through their gold medal victories at the Asian Games. 

Argentina (men and women) sealed their spots at the Olympics as winners of the Pan American Games. With South Africa (men and women) qualifying to the games

With five direct qualifiers, the six remaining berths alongside France will be known in January.

Total Hockey


Most Popular



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Irish para hockey champions meet Taoiseach after Special Olympics gold

Ireland's Hockey Intellectual Disability team have enjoyed a memorable week since...

How Newport, formed in 2017, won England Hockey emerging club of the year award

Seven short years on from being formed, Newport Hockey Club were...

‘This will be my last Olympic Games – I’ll appreciate every moment’

Team GB women's hockey captain Hollie Pearne-Webb will once again wear...

Paris Olympics Hockey: Belgium and rivals unveil squads

All the latest news as nations unveil their squads for the...

- A word from our sponsors -