Monday, May 20, 2024

Hockey Australia announces latest Hall of Fame inductees

Two members of the Hockeyroos golden generation, a trio of exceptional players to represent the Kookaburras and two highly decorated umpires are the newest additions to the Hockey Australia Hall of Fame.

Furthermore, Hockey Australia has bestowed its highest individual honour on former Hockeyroo Sharon Buchanan OAM who becomes the latest ‘Legend’ of Australian hockey.

Buchanan joins fellow Hockeyroos Rechelle Hawkes and Alyson Annan on the esteemed Legends list, which also includes Ric Charlesworth and Julian Pearce.

Gaining induction as a Hockey Australia Legend transcends performance and considers character, sportsmanship and extraordinary reputation world-wide.

Alison Peek, Rachel Imison, Lachlan Dreher, Daniel Sproule and David Wansbrough have been recognised for their achievements and excellence on the international playing field.

Peri Buckley and Dennis Meredithwere both inducted into the General Category for their illustrious umpiring careers.

“Hockey in Australia is blessed to have had a plethora of elite world class players and umpires who were not only exceptional talents on the pitch, but also outstanding ambassadors for our sport,” said Hockey Australia President Ross Sudano.

“On behalf of the HA Board, I want to thank the Hockey Australia Hall of Fame Committee, led by Chair Richard Aggiss, for their worthy nominations as we continue to acknowledge and grow the list of inductees who have excelled at the highest level.”

Aggiss, who is a former Australian player and coach, continues to be a passionate and dedicated advocate of ensuring those who have made a telling impact on Australian hockey on the world stage and significantly enhanced the image of the sport are recognised.

“These Hall of Fame inductees are the superstars of our sport. They each brought that sense of magic, they could change a game, make things happen,” said Aggiss.

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Glasgow hockey club bids to set two endurance world records in four days

Clydesdale Hockey Club, on the south-side of Glasgow, is attempting two...

Ireland women’s hockey trio who led Green Army to World Cup final retire

Ireland’s Deirdre Duke, Anna O'Flanagan and Chloe Watkins have announced their...

3G Hockey pitch woes: It’s not all sad news!

Reading coverage about 3G pitches, banning of rubber infill and relaying...

Ollie Willars joins Marlborough College as head of hockey

Marlborough College has appointed former England and Great Britain defender Ollie...

- A word from our sponsors -