Monday, June 24, 2024

England omit key players ahead of 2019 EuroHockey

England women have opted for experience as they attempt to regain the EuroHockey title they won on home soil in 2015.

Meanwhile, England men will field five European debutant, with Mark Gleghorne, who played in the recent 4 Nations after returning from injury, Michael Hoare and David Condon missing from Danny Kerry’s squad.

Shona McCallin, who has fought her way back from concussion, will play her first major tournament since 2017 when the Europeans get under way in Antwerp next Friday.

Women’s coach Mark Hager said: “It’s my first opportunity with the group for a tournament like this. We looked to select an experienced group and we’ve got also Suzy Petty and Ellie Rayer back after they missed the trip to Japan.”

“That trip gave us the opportunity to play a number of games in a short space of time which is good preparation for the Euros.”

Izzy Petter and Zach Wallace will be the youngest members of the squads, with both players still only 19. Erica Sanders, Lizzie Neal and Esme Burge, who all forged their way into the GB Pro League squads, aren’t selected.

The 2019 EuroHockey has extra spice, with the winners automatically qualifying for the 2020 Olympics.

Men’s fixtures:

England vs Wales: Sat 17 Aug, 10:15am
England vs Belgium: Sun 18 Aug, 5pm
England vs Spain: Tue 20 Aug, 12:30pm
Semi Finals: Thu 22 Aug
Final: Sat 24 Aug

Women’s fixtures:

England vs Ireland: Sun 18 Aug, 10:15am
England vs Germany: Mon 19 Aug, 12:30pm
England vs Belarus: Wed 21 Aug, 9am
Semi Finals: Fri 23 Aug
Final: Sun 25 Aug

England men:
David Ames (Holcombe), Will Calnan (Hampstead & Westminster), Brendan Creed (Surbiton), Adam Dixon (C, Beeston), James Gall (Surbiton), Harry Gibson (GK, Surbiton), Chris Griffiths (East Grinstead), Ashley Jackson (Old Georgians), Harry Martin (Hampstead & Westminster), George Pinner (GK, Old Georgians), Phil Roper (Wimbledon), Ian Sloan (Wimbledon), Tom Sorsby (Surbiton), Zach Wallace (Surbiton), Jack Waller (Wimbledon), Sam Ward (Old Georgians), Henry Weir (Wimbledon), Ollie Willars (Beeston)

England women:
Giselle Ansley (Surbiton), Grace Balsdon (Hampstead & Westminster), Emily Defroand (Surbiton), Sarah Evans (Surbiton), Maddie Hinch (GK, SCHC), Tess Howard (Durham University), Jo Hunter (Surbiton), Shona McCallin (Holcombe), Hannah Martin (Surbiton), Lily Owsley (Hampstead & Westminster), Hollie Pearne-Webb (C, Surbiton), Izzy Petter (Surbiton), Suzy Petty (Wimbledon), Ellie Rayer (East Grinstead), Amy Tennant (GK, Reading), Anna Toman (Wimbledon), Susannah Townsend (Canterbury), Laura Unsworth (East Grinstead)

Sign up as an annual print subscriber and receive our daily newsletter direct from Antwerp

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

FIH Hockey Pro League: Australian men secure World Cup berth, Dutch women win title

Australia qualified for the Hockey Men’s World Cup 2026 after Great...

Irish para hockey champions meet Taoiseach after Special Olympics gold

Ireland's Hockey Intellectual Disability team have enjoyed a memorable week since...

How Newport, formed in 2017, won England Hockey emerging club of the year award

Seven short years on from being formed, Newport Hockey Club were...

‘This will be my last Olympic Games – I’ll appreciate every moment’

Team GB women's hockey captain Hollie Pearne-Webb will once again wear...

- A word from our sponsors -