Friday, June 14, 2024

Hockey 2012: Australia finish series drubbing of China

Australia 7 
(Dwyer 4m FG/22m FG, Glenn Turner 28m FG, Simon Orchard 40m PS, Des Abbott 51m PC, Eddie Ockenden 52m FG, Jonathon Charlesworth 59m FG) 
China 0

[img_assist|nid=3448|title=Australia's Graeme Begbie in action vs China in March 2012|desc=|link=node|align=left|width=250|height=167]The world number one ranked Kookaburras secured a clean sweep of their hockey series vs China with a 7-0 drubbing of of the visitors. Five-time world player of the year Jamie Dwyer got the Kookaburras off to the perfect start scoring the opening two goals of the match.

The Kookaburras took their goal tally to 27 in the three-test series with China only managing one goal. Single goal scorers for the match were in0form striker Glenn Turner, Simon Orchard, Des Abbott, Eddie Ockenden and Jonathon Charlesworth.

Kookaburras coach Ric Charlesworth was pleased with the results from the series. “We scored a lot of goals during the series and that doesn’t usually happen.” Charlesworth said. “We got great starts in each of the three games and that usually breaks the game open.” Charlesworth said.

The first two tests finished 10-1 and 10-0.

With the London Olympic Games only 120 days away, team selection for the Kookaburras will continue to be a talking point amongst the group. Charlesworth said “I think it’s as hard as it’s ever been. We’ve built some good depth and we’ve got a rally good group of players and choosing 16 for the Olympics is going to be very difficult.”

The Kookaburras head to Canberra tomorrow for a three match test series against fifteenth-ranked Japan starting on Thursday night at 7pm. In an ominous warning to Japan, Charlesworth believes the players are just freshening as they head into the Japan series.

Japan Series Fixture:

Game 1: Thursday 29th March 2012 – Kookaburras v Japan at 7pm
Game 2: Saturday 30th March 2012 – Kookaburras v Japan at 2pm
Game 3: Sunday 1st April 2012 – Kookaburras v Japan at 2pm

Final Goal Scorers Tally for 3 Match series against China
Glenn Turner 5
Jamie Dywer 3
Russell Ford 3
Chris Ciriello 3
Matt Gohdes 2
Eddie Ockenden 2
Jonathon Charlesworth 2
Des Abbott 2
Brent Dancer, Rob Hammond, Matthew Butturini, Simon Orchard and Kieran Govers 1

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Australia women end Hockey Pro League on high with GB win

London -- A sixth defeat in eight Pro League matches against...

Ireland: Pembroke win annual Phil Homan memorial hockey tournament

Armagh Men’s Hockey Club welcomed 10 visiting teams from across Ireland...

- A word from our sponsors -