Monday, June 27, 2022

Final teams secure berths for men’s Hockey World Cup 2023

The 16 teams for the 2023 men’s World Cup have now been confirmed following results at the ongoing Asia Cup in Jakarta.

Japan qualified after beating Pakistan 3-2, while Malaysia and Korea also secured places at hockey’s showpiece event.

India, the host nation, had already qualified but needed a 15-0 win against Indonesia or better to qualify for the Super 4s.

They scored six goals in the final quarter to do so, their 16-0 win meaning that Pakistan failed to qualify for the 2023 World Cup.

The other two teams making up the participating nations are the top ranked teams in Oceania, New Zealand and Australia.

The full list of participating nations:

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, England, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain and Wales.

The 2023 World Cup takes place in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela next January.

What do you think? Join our forum for free and keep the discussion going


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Hockey Matters: Injuries – How can nutrition get you back on the pitch quicker?

Injuries are unfortunately an inevitable consequence in all sports, even hockey! Most athletes will sustain at least one injury...

More Articles Like This