Thursday, July 7, 2022

Spain to play first match at FIH Women’s Hockey World Cup

Full match schediule, tickets and dates for the FIH Women's Hockey World Cup

Spain will kick off the 2022 Women’s World Cup with an evening clash against Canada at the Olympic Stadium in Terrassa.

The co-hosts will push back on July 1 before matches in Amsterdam, Netherlands – co-hosting the tournament – start on July 2, with New Zealand playing China.

The Dutch, the defending champions, start their bid against Ireland on the same day against Ireland in a repeat of the 2018 World Cup final in London.

England will begin their campaign on July 3 in Amstelveen against India.

Both venues will host pool matches, cross-overs, classification matches and quarter-finals. Terrassa, which hosted the Olympic hockey tournaments in 1992, will also hold the semi-finals, the third-place match and the final.

Tickets for both nations’ matches went on sale on Tuesday: (for matches in Spain) (for matches in the Netherlands)

Sixteen teams will compete in July, while the draw to define the pool stages was staged last week in Spain.

Pool A: Netherlands, Germany, Ireland, Chile
Pool B: England, New Zealand, India, China
Pool C: Argentina, Spain, Korea, Canada
Pool D: Australia, Belgium, Japan, South Africa

Full match schedule and timings are here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

‘Amsterdam, baby!’: South Africa scrape through to Hockey World Cup cross-overs

South Africa women booked their ticket out of Terrassa to keep their Women's Hockey World Cup alive with a...

More Articles Like This