Friday, July 19, 2024

16 teams secure places at the 2022 Women’s Hockey World Cup

The make-up of the 2022 Women’s World Cup this summer has been finalised, with 16 teams set for the co-hosted tournament in Spain and the Netherlands in July.

With Spain and the Dutch defending champions having already qualified as hosts, they will be joined by European rivals Belgium, England and Germany after the trio qualified at last year’s EuroHockey.

Australia and New Zealand will also participate, while Ireland and South Africa also compete, having won the European qualifier and Africa Cup of Nations respectively.

At the recent Asia Cup in Muscat, winners Japan will be joined at the World Cup by China, India and South Korea.

Argentina, Chile – the lowest ranked team at world No 17 – and Canada make up the 16 teams after assuring their places at the Pan American Cup, which concluded at the weekend. USA will be the only team from the world’s top 16 not competing at the sport’s showpiece event.

This summer’s World Cup will take place between July 1-17 in Terrassa, Spain and the Wagener Stadium, Amsterdam.

2022 Women’s World Cup teams

Netherlands, Spain, Belgium, England, Germany, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, South Africa, China, India, Japan, South Korea, Argentina, Chile, Canada.

Full fixtures and dates will appear here when the draw is made

Do you have a feature or story idea? Get in touch!

Total Hockey



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Paris Olympics Hockey: Australian player amputates finger to secure berth

In a display of Olympian commitment to his sport and country,...

Miriam Pritchard aims to sketch out her own Paris Olympic hockey journey

Miriam Pritchard has a new sketchbook at the ready if she...

Recalling GB’s 1996 Olympics: Scary flights, golf and questions on skirts

Calum Giles recalls the unique and unrivalled experiences of playing for...

Olympics Hockey: Best quotes of the Tokyo 2020 Games

It was a scintillating fortnight of Olympic hockey action at the...

- A word from our sponsors -