Saturday, May 18, 2024

FIH rubber stamps Indoor Hockey World Cup 2022 schedule

Namibia and USA (Men) and Canada and South Africa (Women) have been confirmed as the new additions at next year’s FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup in Belgium.

The runners up in the African and Pan American Indoor Championships were invited after the decision by Australia and New Zealand to pull out of several elite competitions until July 2022.

The 2022 Indoor World Cup will be played at the Country Hall, Liège between Feb 2-6.

Eight nations will have participation across both men’s and women’s events: Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Czech Republic, Kazakhstan, Namibia, South Africa and USA.

Hockey Belgium CEO Serge Pilet said: “Being able to announce a world class event like the Indoor Hockey World Cup in Belgium, is really an important milestone for us.

“And with our Olympic gold medal still fresh in the memories of the Belgian sports fans, we are convinced we will be able to attract new spectators to discover our beautiful sport in its indoor version.”

Pool A: Austria, Russia, Czech Republic, South Africa, Kazakhstan, Argentina
Pool B: Germany, Iran, Netherlands, Belgium, Namibia, USA

Pool A: Germany, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Kazakhstan, USA, Canada
Pool B: Netherlands, Belarus, Austria, Namibia, South Africa, Belgium

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

Ireland women’s hockey trio who led Green Army to World Cup final retire

Ireland’s Deirdre Duke, Anna O'Flanagan and Chloe Watkins have announced their...

3G Hockey pitch woes: It’s not all sad news!

Reading coverage about 3G pitches, banning of rubber infill and relaying...

Ollie Willars joins Marlborough College as head of hockey

Marlborough College has appointed former England and Great Britain defender Ollie...

‘A true gentleman’: Wakefield Hockey Club pay tribute to Geoff Leighton

Geoff Leighton had been a member of Wakefield Hockey Club...

- A word from our sponsors -