Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Jodie Kenny and Aran Zalewski named Australia players of the year

Jodie Kenny celebrates during the Commonwealth Games

Jodie Kenny has been named the Hockeyroos’ Player of the Year and Aran Zalewski has been awarded as Kookaburras’ Player of the Year for 2018.

Kenny scooped the pool of the Hockeyroos awards, winning both the Player of the Year and the Top Goal Scorer awards for 2018.

The 31-year-old Queenslander, who brought up her 200th cap in 2018, won the player award ahead of goalkeeper Rachael Lynch and midfielder Renee Taylor.

Defender Kenny, who was also recently appointed Hockeyroos co-captain, scored the side’s most goals in 2018 with nine strikes, ahead of Rosie Malone (six) and Brooke Peris (five).

Zalewski claimed the Kookaburras Player of the Year after a strong year where he also won the Champions Trophy Player of the Tournament and was appointed co-captain following Mark Knowles’ retirement.

Zalewski, who also brought up his 150th cap in 2018, won the Player of the Year ahead of fellow co-captain Eddie Ockenden and defender Matthew Swann.

Blake Govers won the Kookaburras’ Top Goal Scorer award for 2018 with 17 strikes, ahead of Trent Mitton (15) and Dylan Wotherspoon (10).

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

England over 80s hockey masters set for Dutch renewal

Unbeaten England Masters over 80s will take on the Netherlands in...

Amy Costello aims for Paris Olympic hockey berth after Tokyo dejection

As Amy Costello, the Surbiton and Scotland player, stood behind the...

US Field Hockey rebuff Erin Matson bid to play at Paris Olympics

US Field Hockey said Erin Matson, regarded as one of the...

England Hockey Cup: Beeston head to London in double bid

Beeston will be aiming for a Cup double after both men’s...

- A word from our sponsors -