Anne Panter during the London 2012 Olympic hockey tournament (c) Ady Kerry

Beijing and London Olympian Anne Panter is one of four electees to the International Hockey Federation (FIH) athletes’ committee.

Panter, a bronze medallist at the London 2012 Olympic Games, is the only one of the four elected who is not a current international player. South Africa’s Marsha Cox, Germany’s Moritz Furste and Australia’s Liam De Young were the other three chosen by athletes participating at the World Cup with a 92% turnout.

The elected and appointed athletes will start their mandate in March 2015, while the FIH executive board expects to appoint three more candidates at congress in November.