Saturday, April 20, 2024

Barnes wins award for outstanding contribution to hockey in New Zealand

Taranaki’s Hugh Barnes took top honours at the Hockey New Zealand service awards dinner last weekend.

Hugh was awarded the Pakistan Trophy for outstanding contribution to the administration of hockey around the Oceania Cup in Stratford late last year.

His incredible vision, leadership, dedication, and professional expertise ensured the successful delivery of a world class facility funded, engineered and delivered within five months which enabled Taranaki to host the Oceania Cup.

The result for Taranaki Hockey included new lighting, 268 permanent seats, a new carpark, new tennis courts, retaining walls, asphalt laid around the turf and a new electronic scoreboard. 

The Pakistan Trophy is not awarded every year, but it was agreed by the Hockey New Zealand Board that Hugh was a very deserving recipient.

Hugh was nominated for the award by the Taranaki Hockey Association.

“Hugh is committed to achieving the needs of the Taranaki Hockey community, he fully understands the nature of the sport and in particular the complex dynamics of the Taranaki community. 

“He is always contactable and approachable and now having been administratively involved for many years is an important source of information. When it comes to matters regarding facilities he will always have it under control and know what to do to ensure the best outcome.”

To top off the night, Hugh also received a Bronze Service award for between 15-19 years of service to the sport of hockey.

Awards were also given for other Bronze Service recipients along with Gold Service awards for 25 years of more service to hockey.

Hockey New Zealand chief executive Malcolm Harris spoke at the dinner about the high caliber of volunteers and administrators in the sport. 

“Sport in New Zealand wouldn’t happen without passionate, dedicated people who go above and beyond to ensure sport is delivered to those in our communities.  

“Having been in the role only a few months, I am heartened by the wonderful attitude and sincerity of the hockey community.”

Gold Service award (25 years or more service to hockey)
Chandu Bhana (Taranaki)
Caroline Bigham (Tauranga)
Graham Bone (West Coast)
Alan Galletly (Tauranga)
Andrew Green (West Coast)
Rob Leslie (Tauranga)
Ian Tennent (West Coast)
Allister Thomas (Taranaki)
Bill Webb (Tauranga)
Marion Webby (Taranaki)

There were no Silver Service award recipients in 2013

Bronze Service award (Between 15 and 19 years service to hockey)
Hugh Barnes (Taranaki)
Andrew Brydon (Canterbury)
Jim Murray (Taranaki)
Jude Sewell-Monod (Taranaki)

Total Hockey


Most Popular


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More from Author

England over 80s hockey masters set for Dutch renewal

Unbeaten England Masters over 80s will take on the Netherlands in...

Amy Costello aims for Paris Olympic hockey berth after Tokyo dejection

As Amy Costello, the Surbiton and Scotland player, stood behind the...

US Field Hockey rebuff Erin Matson bid to play at Paris Olympics

US Field Hockey said Erin Matson, regarded as one of the...

- A word from our sponsors -