Scotland look to return to top flight in Europe

[img_assist|nid=8532|title=Promotion push|desc=Scotland|link=node|align=right|width=220|height=165]Scotland coach Derek Forsyth has selected his squad of 18 players to compete in the EuroHockey Nations Championship II in Vienna from August 5-11 .

The Scots will compete in Pool A against Azerbaijan, France and Wales, while Pool B is made up of hosts Austria, Italy, Russia and Ukraine.

The target for the national side is to reach the semi-finals of the competition to contest promotion to the EuroHockey Nations Championship in 2015. The top two sides in the final standings will be promoted.

Scotland team manager Eugene Connolly said, “Promotion is the ultimate target for the players and that’s what we’ll be setting out to achieve in Vienna. The games against Wales and Azerbaijan in the pool stage will be key, and hopefully we can beat France too.

“The team needs to reach the semi-finals, which means finishing second in the pool. The result of the fourth game of the tournament will then be significant to our chances of progressing to the European Championship in 2015. Russia will be the main threat and I expect Austria will be competitive on home soil too.”

Beeston’s Gordon McIntyre is out with a hamstring injury sustained against Spain last weekend, while Grove Menzieshill’s Paul Martin is included after a good run of goalscoring form in the warm-up matches leading up to the European competition.

Indeed, the Scots have performed well in their preparations for the continental challenge, having won seven of their last nine international matches.

“The squad are in good spirits and we have a good cohesive squad going into this tournament”, continued Connolly. “Derek Forsyth has the team playing well and he is the ideal person to be leading the Scotland side into European competition,” Connolly said.

Scotland Senior Men: Jamie Cachia (Sheffield Hallam), Allan Dick (Holcolme), Graham Moodie (Edinburgh University), Paul Martin (Grove Menzieshill), Alan Forsyth (Surbiton), Russell Anderson (Brooklands), Ian Moodie (Western Wildcats), Chris Nelson (Glynhill Hotel Kelburne), Kenny Bain (THC Hurley), William Marshall (Glynhill Hotel Kelburne), Iain Scholefield (Qui Vive), Wei Adams (Royal Penguins), Callum Duke (Edinburgh University), Ross Stott (Grove Menzieshill), Chris Grassick (Surbiton), Gavin Byers (Grove Menzieshill), Nick Parkes (Surbiton), David Forsyth (Glynhill Hotel Kelburne).

Scotland schedule:





5th August

13.00 (CET)



6th August

17.00 (CET)



8th August

13.00 (CET)



10th August


Cross overs


11th August


Cross overs