World Hockey League Finals announced

[img_assist|nid=8509|title=World League|desc=|link=none|align=right|width=150|height=150]Following the completion of the Hockey World League Semi Final event in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, the International Hockey Federation is delighted to confirm the line-up for the HWL Finals events that take place in Argentina and India.

The Argentina Hockey World League Final will feature the women’s teams of Australia, China, England, Germany, Korea, The Netherlands, New Zealand and host nation Argentina. Australia, England and China achieved a top four finish at the HWL Semi Final in England, joining Rotterdam qualifiers Germany, The Netherlands, Korea and New Zealand.

On the men’s side, India qualify as hosts of the Hero Hockey World League Final, being joined by the top three teams from the men’s event in Rotterdam – Belgium, Australia and The Netherlands. The results from the competition in Johor Bahru mean that Germany, Argentina and England have guaranteed their participation in the New Delhi event. New Zealand have also qualified by virtue of being the highest ranked of the two fourth place finishers from Rotterdam and Johor. Following the release of the latest FIH Rankings, the Black Sticks are now 5th in the world, ahead of Korea who are joint 6th. The updated FIH World Rankings can be found by clicking here

Argentina Hockey World League Final – Women
Tucuman, Argentina
30 November – 8 December 2013
Teams: Argentina (hosts), Australia, China, England, Germany, Korea, Netherlands, New Zealand.

Hero Hockey World League Final – Men
New Delhi, India
10-18 January 2013
Teams: India (hosts), Australia, Argentina, Belgium, England, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand.