The European Hockey Federation announces the creation of an EHF Hall of Fame

[img_assist|nid=8133|title=Teun De Nooijer is to be inaugurated in to the EHL Hall of fame|desc=|link=none|align=left|width=164|height=200]Since its foundation in 1969, the EHF has always valued its players with Best Player, Most Valuable Player and Best Goalkeeper awards at all of our Tournaments. However in recent years, as the players, coaches and umpires have perfomed better, given more, developed themselves through their actions on and off the field of play,  we feel that it is now time to honour those very special people that are involved on the field in hockey. The idea of a Hall of Fame, a place (albeit a virtual one) where people can admire, enjoy and revel in the achievements of the greatest in our sport. 

The EHF Hall of Fame is our way of honouring and highlighting some of the most significant figures in European Hockey. The inaugural inductees into the EHF Hall of Fame are all International Senior players, have all consistently displayed high levels of sportsmanship, and have had a deep and meaningful impact in hockey on and off the pitch. 

The official launch of the EHF Hall of Fame will take place during the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships in Boom, BEL on the 23rd – 24th August, 2013. At this time, an induction ceremony  will be held for the inaugural, founding inductees are: 

Natascha Keller (GER)

Santi Freixa (ESP)

Teun de Nooijer (NED) 

Natascha Keller is one of the world’s most celebrated female hockey players . As a member of one of hockey’s most illustrious families, she has carved out a name on her own and has played over  400 games for her native Germany, making her one of the most capped players in her country. She has won one Olympic Gold medal, in the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens and was Germany’s Flag bearer at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. 

Santi Freixa is an FIH Young Player of the Year award recipient and is the captain of the Spanish team since 2000. He led the Spanish national team to an Olympic Silver medal in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing. As well as being a sensational hockey player, Santi has displayed some incredible drive and commitment in his foundation ‘Stick for India’ which provides an education for the children of Anantapur region, in addition to providing them with an opportunity to develop their hockey skills. 

Teun de Nooijer  has recently announced his retirement after a stellar career that has seen him win two Olympic gold medals (1996 and 2000), two Olympic silver medals (2004 and 2012), one European Cup (2001), two EHL gold medals (2009 and 2013) and a staggering 9 national championships with his team, HC Bloemendaal. Teun has inspired a generation of young hockey players with his skill, determination and simply his love of playing hockey. He is rightfully one of the most recognizable names in hockey. 

The EHF Hall of Fame will be a virtual one, held on our website We will be releasing further details about the EHF Hall of Fame in due course, including how individuals can be nominated for future induction.