De Nooijer World XI testimonial match announced

[img_assist|nid=5155|title=Teun de Nooijer – hockeyimages.co.uk|desc=|link=none|align=left|width=200|height=133]At 14.30 (CET) on Sunday 23rd June, the men’s finals day of the Rabobank Hockey World League Semi Final in Rotterdam, a very special game will take place in honour of one of hockey’s greatest ever talents: Teun de Nooijer.

The former Netherlands international – who recently announced his decision to retire from all forms of the game at the end of the Dutch and European club season – will play in a testimonial farewell match. He will represent a World XI against a side consisting of international players who played between 1994 and 2012, the period in which De Nooijer represented The Netherlands.

During that 18 year timespan, De Nooijer won two Olympic Gold medals (1996 / 2000), a World Championship (1998) a European championship (2007), six Champions Trophy Gold medals and three FIH Player of the Year Awards. He also earned a world record 453 international caps and scored 219 international goals, ensuring that he will go down in history as one of the all-time greats of the game.   

The final compositions of the two teams that will face each other in Rotterdam will be confirmed in the weeks leading up to the event.

The KNHB (Royal Dutch Hockey Federation) has also confirmed that they will be paying tribute to a number of former internationals prior to matches at the Rabobank Hockey World League.

On Saturday 15th June, former internationals Matthijs Brouwer, Floris Evers, Timme Hoyng, Eby Kessing, Klaas Veering and Roderick Weusthof will be given credit prior to the Netherlands men’s match that will take place at 16.30 (CET).

 On Sunday 16th June, a number of retired stars of the women’s game including Marilyn Agliotti, Wieke Dijkstra, Floortje Engels, Maartje Goderie and Marieke Veenhoven will be honoured ahead of The Netherlands women’s match against Chile (16.30 CET).

Teun de Nooijer’s international record of achievement

Olympics: Gold (1996, 2000), Silver (2004, 2012)
World Championships: Gold (1998), bronze (2002, 2010)
Champions Trophy: Gold (1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006)
European Championships: Gold (2007)
FIH Player of the Year (2003, 2005, 2006)