Thursday, June 30, 2022

England added to 2012 Champions Trophy leaving one place to be decided

[img_assist|nid=3123|title=|desc=|link=none|align=right|width=100|height=60]The International Hockey Federation (FIH) today confirmed seven of the eight teams that will participate in the 2012 Champions Trophy men’s hockey tournament to be held December 1-9 in Melbourne, Australia.

Already named were the national teams of Australia, Belgium, Germany, India, Netherlands and New Zealand. The seventh team in the Champions Trophy will be England.The FIH’s Executive Board will appoint the eighth, and final, participating nation following the conclusion of the Olympics Games in London.

The Champions Trophy will be the first top-level men’s FIH event after the 2012 Olympic Games and is the start of the new four-year Olympic cycle. 

The 2011 runners-up, world fifth-ranked, Spain have not, so far, been offered a place


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Women’s Hockey World Cup: My dark horses, key matches and predictions

Having been a part of the FIH commentary team from the 2014 World Cup hosted in The Hague, I...

More Articles Like This