Wednesday, November 29, 2023

South Africa name hockey squads for London 2012

[img_assist|nid=3452|title=|desc=|link=none|align=right|width=180|height=180]The South Africa men’s and women’s hockey teams for the London 2012 Olympic Games were announced by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) in Johannesburg, Wednesday.

The teams were part of an initial batch of 112 athletes named for the Games.

“The final team to travel to London will be announced on July 4 after the qualification deadline for all sporting codes comes to an end,” said the SASCOC website.

The SA men’s hockey team has an average age of 26 with an average of 60 Test matches per player. The SA women’s hockey team has an average age of 27 with an average of 150 Test matches per player.

The SA men’s team qualified for London 2012 in Japan in May while the SA women’s team qualified for London 2012 in India in February.

Hockey teams

SA women: Tarryn Bright, Dirkie Chamberlain, Pietie Coetzee, Bernadette Coston, Sulette Damons, Illse Davids, Lisa-Marie Deetlefs, Lesle-Ann George, Lenise Marais, Marsha Marescia, Mariette Rix, Shelley Russell, Kathleen Taylor, Nicolene Terblanche, Jennifer Wilson, Kate Woods.

SA men: Andrew Cronje, Timothy Drummond, Ian Haley, Rhett Halkett, Marvin Harper, Julian Hykes, Lance Louw, Lloyd Madsen, Thornton McDade, Lloyd Norris-Jones, Taine Paton, Wade Paton, Erasmus Pieterse, Justin Reid-Ross, Jonathan Robinson, Austin Smith.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Rohan Bhuhi set to become first Asian to play for GB Hockey for 23 years

Rohan Bhuhi is set to become the first Sikh to play for Great Britain men for nearly 24 years...

More Articles Like This