Sunday, December 10, 2023

Leicester win Investec women’s hockey championship 2012


Leicester have won the Investec women’s hockey league championship with a penalty shootout victory over reigning champions Reading.

In a high-quality shootout to Euro Hockey Leage rules (8 seconds to score starting at 25 year line) and featuring two GB goalkeepers and six GB field players, Chloe Rogers netted her second shootout goal to win the title in sudden death. Maddie Hinch in the Leicester goal capped of a strong all round performance with some athletic shootout keeping and was deserved player of the match.

The final waited 59 minutes for it’s first goal when Lucy Brown dived in from of Reading keeper Beth Storry to deflect a penalty corner high into the home side’s net.

Reading were stung into action and took advantage of Katie Long’s yellow card. for not retreating, to hit back on 62 minutes with a well worked goal to Amanda Potieger. That was how the scores remained through extra time.

Penalty shooout: Chloe Rogers (Leicester): goal; Laura Bartlett: goal; Anne Panter: timed out; Helen Richardson: goal; Crista Cullen: goal; Alex Danson missed. Sudden death: Laura Bartlett: saved, Chloe Rogers: goal.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

History makers: inaugural Singapore Women’s Masters Hockey team crowned Asian champions

It may have been their first ever appearance at the Asian Continental Cup, but the Singapore Women’s Masters over...

More Articles Like This