Ireland squads announced for Olympic qualifiers

Beeston’s David Ames, Reading’s Chris Cargo and Loughborough Students’ Stuart Loughrey have all been selected for the Ireland’s forthcoming men’s Olympic hockey qualifying tournament. St Albans’ Emma Clarke has been selected for the women’s qualifier.

Loughrey is the one change from Ireland’s European squad that finished fifth in Germany last August. The 21-year-old replaces injured defender Joe Brennan.

Ireland have home advantage in the men’s qualifier, competing against Korea, Malaysia, Russia, Chile and the Ukraine for a place t at the London 2012 Olympics. The Electric Ireland FIH Road To London event will be from March 10-18 at the National Hockey Stadium in UCD (Dublin).

Coach Paul Revington said “It is a big honour to be hosting this 2012 Olympic Qualification Event and I know this Team will do their best to make Ireland and their fellow Irish Squad mates proud.”

The women’s side sees two changes from the Europeans as Nicci Daly and Nikki Evans come in for Niamh Small and Julia O’Halloran to make up the eighteen. Ireland will travel to Belgium to compete in their tournament from March 17-25 and will face Spain, Belgium, Mexico, Russia and France.

Women’s coach Gene Muller said “We have worked hard for this tournament and our team is ready.  We will need to be at our very best to qualify for the Olympics. Our main threats are Spainand Belgium.  Spain have been at every Olympic Games since 1992 and Belgium are a rising force in world hockey.   There were some very difficult selection decisions, and we are leaving some quality players behind.  Our team is sincerely grateful to our supporters and especially the Irish Sports Council, Sport Northern Ireland, The Irish Sports Institute, the Olympic Council of Ireland, the Sports institute of Northern Ireland, and of course Electric Ireland. Their support has put us in a position to qualify for London 2012.”

Ireland Men’s Squad – Electric Ireland FIH Road to London, March 10-18 2012, UCD, Dublin

Name Club Age Caps

David Ames Beeston 22 55

Chris Cargo Reading 26 37

Peter Caruth Annadale 23 48

Tim Cockram Lisnagarvey 28 129

Mitch Darling SCHC 23 75

David Fitzgerald Monkstown 25 5

Paul Gleghorne Instonians 24 47

Ronan Gormley Club De Campo 28 133

Conor Harte SCHC 23 79

David Harte SCHC 23 81

John Jackson Braxgata 26 81

John Jermyn Cork C of I 29 132

Stuart Loughrey Loughborough 21 11

Eugene Magee Dragons 25 131

Geoff McCabe R.S. Tenis 25 99

Andy McConnell Hurley 26 55

Ian Sloan Cookstown 19 10

Michael Watt R.S. Tenis 24 91

Note: John Jermyn subject to final fitness assessment (Ireland v Czech Rep Games)

All core / peripheral squad members are considered as non-travelling reserves.

Ireland Women’s Squad – Athlon Car Lease FIH Road to London, March 17-25, 2012, Beerschot, Brussels

Name Club Age Caps

Emma Gray Hermes 24 45

Pamela Smithwick Old Alex 25 12

Michelle Harvey Pegasus 22 81

Miriam Crowley Hermes 24 34

Cliodhna Sargent Cork Harlequins 24 109

Emma Smyth Railway Union 26 60

Emma Clarke St. Albans 26 120

Nikki Evans Railway Union 21 23

Alex Speers (Capt) Railway Union 24 115

Shirley McCay Old Alex 23 134

Lisa Jacob Hermes 24 101

Sinead McCarthy Hermes 29 45

Aine Connery Hermes 24 48

Nikki Symmons Loreto 29 169

Audrey O’Flynn Hermes 25 58

Chloe Watkins UCD 19 42

Lizzie Colvin Loreto 22 76

Nicci Daly Loreto 23 33


WORLD RANKINGS of Competing Teams (Men)

Korea 6; Malaysia 13; Ireland 16; Russia 20; Chile 26; Ukraine 29

WORLD RANKINGS of Competing Teams (Men)

Spain 11; Ireland 14; Belgium 16; Russia 21; France 25; Mexico 30