FIH Player of the Year shortlists announced

Luciana Aymar nominated for the eighth timeThe International Hockey Federation is pleased to announce the nominations for the FIH Player of the Year Awards. The annual prizes recognise the finest hockey players in the game as voted for by athletes representing the world’s best international teams.

Women’s FIH Young Player of the Year Nominees
Willemijn Bos (NED)
Katelyn Falgowski (USA)
Charlotte Harrison (NZL)
Stacey Michelsen (NZL)
Joyce Sombroek (NED) 


Men’s FIH Young Player of the Year Nominees
Florent van Aubel (BEL)
Billy Bakker (NED)
Florian Fuchs (GER)
Matthew Swann (AUS)
Nick Wilson (NZL) 


Women’s FIH Player of the Year Nominees
Luciana Aymar (ARG)
Pietie Coetzee (RSA)
Li Hongxia (CHN)
Natascha Keller (GER)
Maartje Paumen (NED) 


Men’s FIH Player of the Year Nominees
Jamie Dwyer (AUS)
Moritz Fürste (GER)
Max Müller (GER)
Teun de Nooijer (NED)
Eddie Ockenden (AUS) 

The winner of the men’s awards will be presented with their prize at the Owen G Glenn FIH Champions Trophy in Auckland by FIH President Leandro Negre. The ceremony will take place during half time of one of the matches on Saturday, 10 December 2011 (exact timing to be confirmed). The women’s awards will be presented during the Argentina FIH Champions Trophy in Rosario. 

The 2011 FIH All-Star teams will be decided by public vote on the FIH Website between 12th and 21st December.