Hope springs eternal as Hockeyroos name Olympic development squad

Hockeyroo veteran Hope Munro appears set to make a remarkable comeback in time for the 2012 London Olympics, having been selected in the Australian senior/Olympic Squad more than a year after retiring ahead of the 2010 world cup.

The 30-year-old, a member of the Hockeyroos 2008 Beijing Olympics team, has been included in the 27 player Olympic training squad along with Ashlee Wells (VIC), Emily Smith (NSW) and Claire Messent (VIC) at the expensive of Hollie Webster (NSW), Georgie Parker (SA), Elise Stacy (SA) and Renee Trost (VIC).

Webster, Parker, Stacy and Trost have been named in the national development squad along with Elizabeth Duguid, Jill Dwyer, Lisa Eglington, Deanne Gilbert, Kate Hollywood, Amy Korner and Sally O’Toole.

With the Hockeyroos final Olympic team to be selected on June 17 2012, all national senior, development and junior squad athletes are in contention for selection until that date.

Munro retired to spend more time with her young family – she has two young daughters. With Adam Commens taking over as coach at the beginning of 2011, Munro played her first international game of the year at last month’s Lanco International Super Series.

Commens said he was confident he had picked the strongest possible squad, however there was still room for players outside the national squad to stand up in time for the Olympics.

“After a year in which we have exposed almost 40 athletes to international hockey, we have narrowed the group down to what I believe to be our strongest possible group of 27 players. With Hope Munro, the return of someone with that much experience is a positive, however she still has a long way to go physically before she is back to her best.

“In terms of those outside the squad, there are still a number of players in the development squad who are still in contention (for Olympic selection) and with some strong performances in the early part of next year could see them make the team,” said Commens.

Australia 2012 National Senior/ Olympic Squad
Teneal Attard (QLD), Madonna Blyth (QLD), Fiona Boyce (WA), Jade Close (NSW), Toni Cronk (NSW), Casey Eastham (NSW), Holly Evans (SA), Anna Flanagan (ACT), Bianca Greenshields (SA), Marnie Hudson (QLD), Emily Hurtz (NSW), Kate Jenner (NSW), Stacia Joseph (VIC), Rachael Lynch (VIC), Kobie McGurk (WA), Jacklyn McRae (NSW), Claire Messent (VIC), Hope Munro (WA), Georgia Nanscawen (VIC), Ashleigh Nelson (WA), Megan Rivers (NSW), Jodie Schulz (QLD), Emily Smith (NSW), Jayde Taylor (WA), Jade Warrender (NSW), Ashlee Wells (VIC), Kellie White (NSW)

Australia 2012 National Senior Development Squad
Elizabeth Duguid (NT), Jill Dwyer (QLD), Lisa Eglington (WA), Deanne Gilbert (SA), Kate Hollywood (NSW), Amy Korner (QLD), Sally O’Toole (QLD), Georgie Parker (SA), Elise Stacy (SA), Renee Trost (VIC), Hollie Webster (NSW)