Hockeyroos and Kookaburras confirm Oceania Cup squads

The Hockeyroos and Kookaburras have today confirmed their squads to compete against New Zealand in next week’s Oceania Cup-Olympic Qualifier event in Hobart from October 6-9.

With Fiji recently withdrawing from the tournament both Australia’s and New Zealand’s men’s and women’s teams have received automatic qualification to the 2012 London Olympics.

However with world ranking points still on the line there remains plenty to play for, particularly for the Hockeyroos and New Zealand’s women’s team who will be placed in the same pool at the London Olympics. 

The Hockeyroos have selected a 19 player squad and will confirm their final squad of 18 on the eve of the tournament. Their squad includes NSW’s Emily Smith who has been part of Australia’s Under 21s squad and is set to make her debut.

The Kookaburras have reduced their 20 man squad selected weeks ago down to 18 players. Defender Brent Dancer has missed out while veteran midfielder Rob Hammond has withdrawn due to an ankle injury.

The Kookaburras will take a very strong team into the tournament in which four-time world player of the year Jamie Dwyer is set to make his comeback from a knee injury which saw him sidelined for over three months. The team will also be buoyed by the inclusion of co-captain Mark Knowles who will also be returning from injury after suffering a stress fracture in his right foot during the Kookaburras last tournament in Europe.

Hockeyroos squad
Rachael Lynch (VIC), Toni Cronk (NSW), Anna Flanagan (ACT), Jodie Schulz (QLD), Jayde Taylor (WA), Kate Jenner (NSW), Stacia Joseph (VIC), Madonna Blyth (QLD), Kobie McGurk (WA), Fiona Boyce (WA), Holly Evans (SA), Megan Rivers (NSW), Casey Eastham (NSW), Kellie White (NSW), Georgia Nanscawen (VIC), Ashleigh Nelson (WA), Claire Messent (VIC), Jade Close (NSW), Emily Smith (NSW)

Kookaburras squad
Nathan Burgers (QLD), Andrew Charter (ACT), Kiel Brown (WA), Fergus Kavanagh (WA), Matthew Swann (QLD), Matthew Butturini (NSW), Chris Ciriello (VIC), Liam De Young (QLD), Mark Knowles (QLD), Eddie Ockenden (TAS), Simon Orchard (NSW), Jamie Dwyer (QLD), Mark Paterson (NSW), Glenn Simpson (VIC), Glenn Turner (ACT), Jason Wilson (QLD), Russell Ford (VIC), Kieran Govers (NSW)