England need top five finish in Amsterdam to be sure of retaining Champions Trophy place

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has anounced next year’s women’s Champions Trophy in Argentina will be an eight-team competition.

The top five teams from the 2011 Trophy will qualify, plus the hosts, plus two sides nominated by the FIH, plus the winners of the Champions Challenge (which was Japan).

The two FIH nominations will be announced in September, leaving England (who will play as GB in 2012) with an anxious wait if they do not make the top two in pool D and win the fifth/sixth playoff game.

The qualification criteria issued by the FIH today allow the federation to nominate one or two teams. In 2012 it will be two as Argentina qualify as hosts and are already certain of a top-four finish in the 2011 Champions Trophy.